University of Tasmania

Country: Australia
Address:Churchill Ave, Hobart TAS 7005, Australia

About University of Tasmania

University of Tasmania address is Churchill Avenue, Hobart TAS 7005, Australia. It is the public research university that is located in Tasmania, Australia. This is the fourth of the oldest universities in Australia. Christ College is the residential college in the university that was founded in 1846. It is one of the oldest tertiary institutes in the country. They offer various graduate and undergraduate programs in a range of disciplines that has a link with 20 specialist research institutes and cooperative research centers.

The university offers tertiary education at the Australian Maritime College, the national center for maritime education, research and training. The staff includes distinguished men of society like William Jethro Brown (historian), Alexander McAulay and his son Alexander Leicester McAulay (Mathematician and Physicists), R.L Dunbabin (Classicist) and Edmund Morris Miller (Polymath and Philosopher). They have many campuses like the Tasmanian Conservatorium of Music, Medical Sciences Precinct in the South, in the North there are campuses like the Newnham and The Australian Maritime College, in the north-west side, they have campuses like the Cradle Coast and Rural Clinical School, in Sydney their university campus is situated in Darlinghurst and Rozelle.

They have seven libraries including the Morris Miller Library (Sandy Bay), Law Library (Sandy Bay), Art Library (Centre for the Arts), Music Library (Conservatorium of Music). They have five colleges or faculties that is the College of Arts, Law, and Education, College of Health and Medicine, College of Sciences and Engineering, Tasmanian School of Business and Economics and the University College. The university holds the role of the secretariat to the International Antarctic Institute that was established in 2006. It was established in association with 19 institutes in 12 countries.

The research themes include Environment, resources and Sustainability and Data, Knowledge and Decisions, etc. The research institutes will be including the Institute for Marine and Antarctic Studies, Menzies Research Institute, etc. There is also a facility for scholarships for talented students through the Tasmania Scholarships program. There are also other programs offering scholarships like that of the Jim Bacon Memorial Scholarship that is funded by the Tasmanian Government. Many notable personalities are the alumni of the university like Lara Giddings (Labour politician and first female Premier of Tasmania), Eric Abetz (Liberal politician and the former leader of the Government in the Senate), Mary (Crown Princess of Denmark) and Christine Miller (Former Leader of the Australian Greens), etc. They are affiliated with ASAIHL and ACU.

The University of Tasmania’s Laboratory Medicine program (formerly known as Biomedical Science) is perfect for students who are looking to work in specialized medical or pathology laboratories. Students learn in real labs and work on real cases, preparing them to provide essential diagnostic services and play a key role in situations like the current global pandemic. With accreditation from the Australian Institute of Medical Scientists (AIMS), graduates will be industry ready to work as medical scientists



University of Tasmania

Phone:+61 3 6324 2999
Address:Churchill Ave, Hobart TAS 7005, Australia
Social connect:

Recent news

Recent blogs