University of Surrey

Address:388 Stag Hill, Guildford GU2 7XH, UK

About University of Surrey

The University of Surrey is an esteemed university located in Guildford area of England. This public research university was founded in 1966 after receiving the royal charter, while its roots can be traced to the year 1891 when the Battersea Polytechnic Institute was established. From 1920, this institute started focussing on science and technology, and in 1956, it received the designation of 'College of Advanced Technology.' In the subsequent year, it was renamed as Battersea College of Technology. In 1962, a decision was taken to move the college to Guildford. In 1963, it was proposed by the Robbins Report that Battersea College should spread its wings and develop into a full-fledged university.

The university celebrated its 125th anniversary in 2016 and in the same year, it was named the University of the Year in The Sunday Times Good University Guide 2016. The university has two campuses, one in Stag Hill and the other in Manor Park. Keeping in mind the space constraints at their flagship Stag Hill campus, the Manor Park campus was established. The Manor Park campus is also home to student accommodation, Surrey Sports Park as well as the School of Veterinary Medicine. Moreover, the university's Surrey Research Park, which was established in the year 1985, accommodates over 100 firms wherein nearly 2500 people are employed. The University of Surrey comprises three faculties, which are segregated into 22 schools and departments. The three faculties are faculty of arts and social sciences, faculty of engineering and physical sciences and faculty of health and medical sciences. Further, the university has established two related departments (department of higher education and department of technology-enhanced learning) in order to lend support to the faculties. In 2006, the university collaborated with the Dongbei University of Finance and Economics to establish Surrey International Institute-DUFE (SII-DUFE) in China.

The university offers undergraduate and postgraduate courses in diverse fields so as to cater to a larger segment of students. In addition, it also offers research courses as well in different areas including chemistry, creative writing, clinical psychology, computer science, economics, English literature, law, politics and physics. The university takes special care of its international students by providing scholarships and bursaries. Students can also enrol themselves in continuing professional development/short courses at the university. The University of Surrey offers career opportunities in different areas including research, teaching, operational and professional services, and technical and experimental.

The university boasts of an extensive network of alumni in diverse spheres. Some of the distinguished names are Ann Keen (Labour Member of Parliament), Kay Swinburne (Conservative Member of the European Parliament), Hassan Diab (Lebanese Education Minister), Rilwan Lanre Babalola (Nigerian Cabinet Minister), Tony Attwood (psychologist), Susan Blackmore (parapsychologist), Nigel Williams (radio presenter), Sarah Tan (broadcaster) and Behrouz Afagh (BBC executive).



University of Surrey

Phone:+44 1483 300800
Address:388 Stag Hill, Guildford GU2 7XH, UK
Social connect:

Recent news

Recent blogs