Teesside University

Address:Campus Heart, Southfield Rd, Middlesbrough TS1 3BX, UK

About Teesside University

Founded in the year 1930, Teesside University is an open engineering university which is associated with the University Alliance. Earlier, the university was referred to as the Constantine Technical University. In 1992, it gained the status of a university and the degree courses provided at the university were recognised by the University of London. The major focus of the university is in the field of engineering, metallurgy and chemistry. The first technical building of the university was designed and built by the renowned architect of London, Graham R. Dawbarn. He is also known for his contributions in the construction of the Corpus Christie College in Cambridge. Also, Teesside University is among the first universities in the United Kingdom to follow the Further and Higher Education Act. After the 1990s, the university has witnessed a rapid growth in the number of enrolments.

The main and the newest campus of the university is the Darlington campus which is spread over 15,890 square ft. of land. The campus features accommodation to its students. It provides all the facilities and services required by the students. The residential buildings are known as the Central Halls. The housing facility is managed and maintained by the management authorities of the university. The campus has a peaceful learning environment. The library consists of about thousands of books, research papers, journals and technical e-books. Also, many restaurants, cafes, chemist shops and departmental stores are located near the campus. Students can avail all the necessary services. The public transport is easily accessible from the university. In addition, due to the increasing number of students, the university decided to expand its campus area and faculty buildings. Huge investments have been made for the expansion.

There are 18,263 students in the undergraduate program and about 2,138 students in the postgraduate program. The academic curriculum involves a wide range of subjects that are divided into various faculties. Some of the major subjects are Aerospace Engineering, Animation, Chemical Engineering, Bioinformatics, Civil Engineering, Structural Engineering and Computer Science. Students get great opportunities to learn about the courses with the well-experienced faculty members. The university also provides students with huge scope to understand a different academic structure in the student exchange program.

The university has a list of notable alumni that includes Vera Baird (Former Member of Parliament for Redcar), Stephen Uppal (Famous actor), Philippa Gregory (Novelist), Chris Stevenson (Renowned author), Jamie Dornan (Actor, model and musician), Tom Blenkinsop (Former British Labour Party politician), David Bowe (Former Member of European Parliament), Paul Marsden (Writer and Businessman), Ben Everson (Famous football player) and Nicole Westmarland (Social activist)



Teesside University

Phone:+44 1642 218121
Address:Campus Heart, Southfield Rd, Middlesbrough TS1 3BX, UK
Social connect:

Recent news

Recent blogs