Swansea Metropolitan University

Address:1 Kings Rd, Swansea SA1 8PH, UK

About Swansea Metropolitan University

Swansea Metropolitan University (Welsh: Prifysgol Fetropolitan Abertawe) is a former university based in Swansea, Wales, UK. The university merged with, and became a constituent campus of, the University of Wales Trinity Saint David on 1 August 2013.

Swansea University is a research-led university that has been making a difference since 1920. It is a world-class place for higher learning, well known for its academic achievements, making it one of the top 30 universities in the UK (The Times and The Sunday Times Good University Guide 2019) and ranks in the top 251-300 universities of the world (Times Higher Education Rankings 2020). The university has been granted the title of Welsh University of the Year 2019 & 2020 and has also been recognized with a Gold award in the national Teaching Excellence Framework (TEF) for its outstanding teaching and learning outcomes. It is among the top 10 institutions in the UK for graduate employability (Destination of Leavers from Higher Education 2018).

The university is located in the second largest city of Wales called Swansea, which is well-known for its vibrant cultural life. Swansea University’s stunning waterfront campuses makes it a desirable location for students from around the world. Both the campuses of Swansea University have received Green Flag Status Award, which makes them the first and only Welsh dual-campus university to have received this esteemed award. One of the leading research-intensive universities, Swansea University has also registered a 70% boost in research income in the past 10 years. Across both Singleton Park and Bay campuses, the university has 8 colleges in total: College of Engineering, College Arts and Humanities, College of Human and Health Sciences, Hillary Rodham Clinton School of Law, School of Management, Swansea University Medical School, College of Science, The college, Swansea University.

Swansea University has gained the accreditations of many prestigious organizations like the Association of Chartered Certified Accountants (ACCA); Chartered Institute of Management Accountants (CIMA), Chartered Financial Analyst Institute (CFA), British Computer Society (BCS), British Psychological Society (BPS), The Royal Aeronautical Society, Institution of Mechanical Engineers, Nursing and Midwifery Council (NMC), Bar Council of India, Solicitors Regulation Authority, etc.

Employing more than 500 staff and teaching over 6,000 students, the Swansea Metropolitan University grew out of the three former Swansea colleges of Art, Teacher Education, and Technology which were founded in 1853, 1872 and 1897 respectively and merged in 1976 to form a centre for the delivery of vocational higher education.

The university has produced a list of distinguished alumni, who are pioneers in their respective spheres. Some of the noted alumni of Swansea University are Annabelle Apsion (Film Actress), Geoffrey Thomas (President of Kellogg College, Oxford), Jonathan Hill (Presenter of Wales Tonight on ITV Wales), Jason Mohammad (Television/Radio Presenter at BBC Wales), Chris White (English International Rugby Referee), Graham Ryder (Geologist, Lunar Scientist and Recipient of the Barringer Medal in the year 2003) as well as Physicist Evan James Williams.



Swansea Metropolitan University

Phone:+44 1792 481000
Address:1 Kings Rd, Swansea SA1 8PH, UK
Social connect:

Recent news

Recent blogs